‘Authentic’ O’tentika || Pink label lotion VS Brown label lotion

Hey lovelies, anno it’s been quite some time and I hope the month of August has been an awesome one for y’all?
Oh well! Lemme get down to business. I guess the title of this post says a lot already.
Anno a number of people including myself that have had serious breakout problems with using the pink label otentika lotion but only until recently did I find out the reason for that.

otentika-maxitone-lotion

Apparently, The reason why most people complain about having breakouts from using the pink label otentika lotion is because it’s been formulated for people with dry skin, so it’s an extra oily formula while the brown label otentika is formulated for people with combination/oily skin and it’s a less oily formula.
So if you have combination or oily skin on your face, it’s recommended you use the brown label otentika lotion. Applying the pink label otentika lotion on combo/oily skin will likely lead to breakouts, acne spots and blackheads because it contains an extra oily formula needed to moisturise, soften and tone dry skin.
After downing that information, I decided to go ahead and get a bottle of the brown label otentika lotion since I have combo skin and I just love the otentika skin care range of product. I purchased a bottle of the brown label otentika lotion from the popular ‘mama tega’ store in yaba for #2800 but it’s also available in most superstores in Nigeria.

81Db3baf5VL._SL1500_.jpg

I’ve been using it up to 3weeks now and…. voila! I’m not breaking out in anyway. My skin has stayed soft, supple and blemish free.
I love the otentika skin care range because
* it has a signature scent that tingles and relaxes your senses,
* it’s an all organic product range containing no sulfates, no hydroquinone, no Mercury, no steroids. All ingredients listed are simply organic,
* it ensures an all round smooth and well blended complexion.
So if you’re an otentika lover as well and have had issues with the pink label otentika lotion, I suggest you try out the brown label otentika lotion and hopefully thank me later 😉

Have you also had breakout problems with the ‘pink label’ otentika lotion? Anyone else tried the brown label otentika lotion? Lemme know in the comment section as I’m always excited to read your comments, questions and suggestions :*

32 thoughts on “‘Authentic’ O’tentika || Pink label lotion VS Brown label lotion

    1. Hello Babe, both of the o’tentika lotions are good for lightening the skin about 1 shade. It you want to get lighter 2-6 shades then other products would be more appropriate. Thank you so much for reading this post. xo

      Like

  1. I bumped into your review on O’tentika. I just purchased the pink bottle.I was wondering of I could continue with it because my skin tends to be extra extra dry especially my hands and legs but for my face I am a tiny bit oily around the T-zone area. do I still need to get the brown bottle?

    And what soap can I pair with it except from the otentika soap because I can’t find that in my current location.

    Like

    1. Hello Nadu, I suggest you try adding the o’tentika serum to the lotion and see if that improves the dry skin condition (if serums don’t make you break out). If you notice any break out I suggest you discontinue its use. I also suggest using plain black soap. It does wonders for the skin. Thank you so much for reading this post. xo

      Like

  2. hi pls I bought this cream pink one few weeks ago . I confirm it as original tru one of ur number on Facebook 08083260508 . am fair in complexion and I have a dry skin type, but its making me dark every day by day. wat type of oil should i mix wit it so dat it can lighting me up a bit

    Like

    1. Hello mercy, if you’re in Lagos you can purchase a skin lightening serum by calling 08166444234. Her prices are very affordable with very effective results. Thank you for stopping by. xo

      Like

  3. Hyy Nelly. I stay in the north, bauchi precisely.very sunny part of the country. I’m fair, or I was, cos I’m getting darker by d day and I can’t really use no lightening cream or soap cos I get serious breakouts on my face chest and back. Yea I have an oily and sensitive face. Pls Wat do u recommend.
    N.B
    Sunburn is d order of my day. So I have my face darker than my body

    Like

    1. Hello Halimatou, because of your sensitive skin, I would recommend you cleanse with plain black soap then try a cream called ‘carotein’ it gently brightens and smoothness out skin tone. I hope this helps and if I come up with something better, I’d surely holla you. Thank you so much for reading my blog. xo

      Like

  4. Nelly. Have heard so much about ur otentika cream n have tried a lot of cream but am so giving this a trial n hope it work for me. Pls wia can I get d original here in pH n how much pls reply asap. Thanks.

    Like

    1. Hello Jennifer, I’m sorry I’m not really familiar with beauty/cosmetic stores in PH but you can buy from beauty stores in the mall. I’m sure they always sell authentic products. Thank you for reading this. xo

      Like

  5. am Jennifer by name , I av been hearing about this otentika but I don’t know the one to use, am chocolate in colour but it seems like am getting darker so I want you to recommend me the one that will brighten me very well whether the pink or the brown otentika and I also have an oily face only but my skin is not oily …please reply me Nelly

    Like

    1. Hello Nina Brenda, the brown o’tentika is okay for you dear, exfoliation with a mild body scrub is also necessary. Thank you for stopping by. xo

      Like

  6. Hi Nelly, just came across this your post now, pls help me, am thinking of getting otentika lotion but am not sure which one to get to lighten me up bcos I have become very dark due to pregnancy and my colour doesn’t want to return after months of delivery. Pls help with suggestions. I produce oil only in my nose and T-zone

    Like

    1. Hello Felicia, the brown o’tentika is appropriate since you have an oily T zone. You shld also include exfoliation in your skin care regimen, at least once a week to help improve your skin tone. I hope this helps and you can always holla for more information. Thank you. xo

      Like

  7. hi am in Ghana and I keep buying the fake o’tentika products pls can u help me out on how to get the original n authentic product. Thank you

    Like

    1. Okay Josie, idk about Ghana but here in Nigeria, o’tentika products come with a scratch pin to confirm the products authenticity. You shld also try to buy from trusted stores/super Marts cos they usually try to get their products directly from the company. I hope this helps you. You can always holla for more information. Thank you. xo

      Like

  8. Hi Nelly, I stumbled on your post and I’m really glad.
    Been using O’tentika for quite some time now and I haven’t had any regret until recently. Wanna know if i bought a fake product cuz its nonot oily as usual, its kinda thick and the pink on the bottle is a bit like red-pink, not the normal pink. I discontinued the use after a week+ cuz i was getting darker.
    What do you think, please?.
    Thanks.

    Like

    1. hey Esther, i think i agree with you on that. its probably a fake product. you should be more careful about what store you buy your products from. Otentika is a good product. Thank you for your comment dear

      Like

  9. Thanks for the information. I didn’t know the difference between both but just bought the brown label. I am fair in complexion and while I don’t want to overdo my colour, I want to tone up a bit. Will the brown label be okay?

    Like

    1. hey olla, you’re very welcome and yes the brown label Otentika is very okay for what you want to achieve but please make sure you build a healthy regimen (cleansing, toning, exfoliating, moisturizing) for your skin which would help maintain your skin tone. xo

      Like

  10. I’m light in skin and want to be more lighter have oily face. Please which otentika colour will be good for me. this is really urgent. Thanks for your care.

    Like

    1. hey Deborah, since you have a facial oily skin, i would recommend cleansing with black soap at least once a day to control the oil, then the brown otentika would be more suitable. i hope this helps. thank you

      Like

  11. Thanks Nelly for this post. Please I need you to help me out on the otentika product to get. I understand the Skintone formula(brown) is for normal to oil skin, of which I have normal skin although my face is oily. I am light skinned and to maintain and improve my skin tone, which from the brown otentika or the pink otentika will be best for me. Pls this is really urgent. Thank you

    Like

    1. Hey Ellify, thanks a lot for your comment and question. Do you intend to get lighter or just to maintain your skin tone? if its just to maintain your skin tone then the brown o’tentika is a good option. if you intend to get brighter/lighter then there are other options. do holla back! xoxo

      Like

      1. Hi Nelly, please I intend to get lighter. What cream do you suggest I use. I tend to be oily around my tzone. I was thinking of buying the otentika lotion. The pink pack. Please which do you think I use. I need a lighter cream. Presently I use fair and white. The pink pack. But it’s turning dark in the bottle. Learnt it’s cos it contains hydriquinone.

        Like

        1. hey pearl, you’re right all fair and white products contain about 1.9% hydroquinone. Anyway, there are a lot of creams available in the market that could make you lighter but depending on your budget. Anew kojic lotion works but with a slow pattern, you would have to use about 2 bottles before effects are visible. it goes for about #3000 in stores. other more expensive options include meladerm, makari (original one), QEI (carrot), nature white, glutamax, gluta wink white lotion. i hope this helps. you can always holla back for more info. xo

          Like

  12. Hi..I’m really disturbed about this cream..been using it for three months now..at first it started lightening me up. .then around the 2nd month ..my skin started breaking out..up till now.. But I’m actually lighter. I use the pink label .my skin isn’t all that oily or dry..dunno if to stop or maybe its the process or whatever… Really disturbed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

